All guides

Yu Sleep vs Magnesium Glycinate: The Dose Gap That Matters

Printed pages with a magnifying glass, a pen and a folded receipt on a desk under a lamp
Illustration

Magnesium glycinate is one of ten ingredients in Yu Sleep, hidden inside a blend with no disclosed amount. A standalone magnesium glycinate supplement discloses its dose. This guide compares what each lets you verify, and what the one positive trial actually used.

It is not medical advice.

The Short Answer

  • A standalone magnesium glycinate supplement discloses its elemental magnesium content on the label. Yu Sleep’s label gives no amount for magnesium glycinate; the most it can hold, based on the label’s ingredient order, is about 318 mg of the compound, which works out to roughly 45 mg of elemental magnesium.
  • The one trial with a positive result used 250 mg of elemental magnesium a day, more than five times Yu Sleep’s ceiling.
  • The best current review of magnesium and sleep rates the overall evidence low to very low certainty and does not support routine use for insomnia, regardless of which product you choose.
  • A standalone supplement lets you match, or at least compare against, the dose that showed an effect. Yu Sleep’s undisclosed amount does not let you make that comparison.
Check current pricing and availability for Yu Sleep (affiliate link, opens the maker’s site in a new tab)

What Each Option Discloses

Standalone magnesium glycinateYu Sleep
Elemental magnesiumStated on the label, commonly 100 mg to 200+ mg per serving depending on the productNot disclosed; ceiling of about 45 mg if the label follows the required ordering rule
Other ingredientsNone, or whatever the specific product addsNine others, most sharing the same undisclosed blend
What you can verifyThe elemental magnesium dose against the dose used in the one positive trialOnly that the amount is capped well below that dose

What the Research Actually Found

A 2026 systematic review of 12 trials on magnesium and sleep rated the certainty of the evidence low to very low and does not support routine use of magnesium for insomnia. Within that body of evidence, one trial of magnesium bisglycinate specifically found a small effect, and it used 250 mg of elemental magnesium a day. Our magnesium glycinate guide goes through this in full, including the review’s other findings.

Yu Sleep’s label does not state how much magnesium glycinate is in a serving. Magnesium glycinate is listed second in the “proprietary blend,” and US labeling rules require blend ingredients to be listed in descending order by weight. If the label follows that rule, the most magnesium glycinate a serving can hold is about 318 mg, which is roughly 45 mg of elemental magnesium, since magnesium glycinate is only about 14% elemental magnesium by weight. That ceiling is well below the 250 mg used in the trial that found an effect. The real amount could be lower still. Our Yu Sleep ingredients guide shows the arithmetic for all ten ingredients.

Why the Gap Matters

Even setting aside how weak the overall evidence is, a study result is tied to the dose that was tested. A trial using 250 mg of elemental magnesium tells you about 250 mg, not about smaller amounts. If Yu Sleep’s actual magnesium content is meaningfully below its 45 mg ceiling, which the label does not let anyone rule out, comparing it to a 250 mg trial is comparing two different things. A standalone supplement that discloses, say, 200 mg of elemental magnesium at least lets you see how it lines up against the dose that showed an effect. Yu Sleep’s undisclosed amount does not.

What Would Not Change

Choosing a standalone supplement with a disclosed, higher dose does not turn low-certainty evidence into strong evidence. The 2026 review’s caution about magnesium and sleep applies regardless of which product you pick. What changes is whether you can tell if you are even in the range that was studied.

Who Each Fits

  • A standalone magnesium glycinate supplement fits someone who specifically wants to test magnesium at a dose closer to the one trial that found an effect, while keeping in mind that the overall evidence is still rated low to very low certainty.
  • Yu Sleep fits someone whose interest is in the formula as a whole rather than magnesium specifically, understanding that its magnesium amount cannot be verified against that trial.

What Is Uncertain

  • Yu Sleep’s actual magnesium content. Only a ceiling is knowable from the label, not the real amount.
  • Whether higher doses of magnesium glycinate work better for sleep. One trial is not enough to establish a dose-response relationship.
  • Whether the ordering-rule assumption holds. We have not checked the label against a physical bottle.

Questions

How much magnesium is in Yu Sleep?

The label does not say. Based on its position in the ingredient list, the most it can hold is about 318 mg of magnesium glycinate, roughly 45 mg of elemental magnesium.

What dose of magnesium was shown to help sleep?

The one trial with a positive result, of magnesium bisglycinate specifically, used 250 mg of elemental magnesium a day. The overall evidence for magnesium and sleep is still rated low to very low certainty.

Is a standalone magnesium supplement better than Yu Sleep?

If matching the dose used in that trial matters to you, a standalone product that discloses its elemental magnesium content lets you do that. Yu Sleep’s undisclosed amount does not.

See Also

Magnesium Glycinate for Sleep covers the full research. Yu Sleep Ingredients covers all ten ingredients and their doses or ceilings.

Check current pricing and availability for Yu Sleep (affiliate link, opens the maker’s site in a new tab)

Sources Cited in This Guide

  1. Lopresti AL, Smith SJ, Drummond PD. “Magnesium Supplementation for Sleep in Adults: A Systematic Review of Randomized Controlled Trials.” J Diet Suppl. 2026. PMID 42661485
  2. Schuster J, Cycelskij I, Lopresti A, et al. “Magnesium Bisglycinate Supplementation in Healthy Adults Reporting Poor Sleep: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial.” Nat Sci Sleep. 2025. PMID 40918053
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling,” and 21 CFR 101.36(c)(2). Read September 19, 2026. FDA guide
  4. Yu Sleep Supplement Facts panel, as shown on the maker’s website. Read September 18, 2026. getyusleep.com

This guide is for information and is not medical advice. Talk to a healthcare provider about medication, pregnancy, medical conditions and persistent sleep problems.

If this guide was useful, send it to someone who is also awake at 3 a.m.