All guides

Magnesium Breakthrough Review: 500 mg a Serving, Seven Forms, and What the Evidence Shows

Printed pages with a magnifying glass, a pen and a folded receipt on a desk under a lamp
Illustration

Magnesium Breakthrough is a magnesium supplement sold by BIOptimizers USA Inc. of Reno, Nevada, marketed for sleep and stress. This guide checks its label against what the research on magnesium and sleep shows, sets its dose against the limit the NIH gives for supplements, lists the prices and refund terms as we found them, and says what we could not verify.

It is not medical advice. If sleep trouble is persistent, or you have kidney disease or take medication, talk to a healthcare provider first.

The Short Answer

  • One serving is 500 mg of elemental magnesium. That is two capsules, and it is above the 350 mg a day the NIH sets as the upper limit for adults from supplements and medications, a limit it says not to exceed unless a health care provider recommends it.
  • Evidence for magnesium and sleep is weak. A 2026 systematic review of 12 randomized trials rated it low to very low certainty and said it does not support magnesium as a routine treatment for insomnia. Our magnesium glycinate guide goes through those trials.
  • No study tests this product in people. The one study we found is in rats, funded by BIOptimizers, and it reported effects comparable to single forms of magnesium, not better ones.
  • Seven forms, amounts not disclosed. The label lists seven magnesium compounds in a 1,701 mg proprietary blend without the amount of each. One of them is listed as magnesium oxide.
  • The lower prices are subscription prices. At checkout, one bottle is $40 as a one-time order and $35 as a subscription. Refunds are for unopened bottles within 365 days, minus shipping.
Check current pricing and availability for Magnesium Breakthrough (BIOptimizers) (affiliate link, opens the maker’s site in a new tab)

What Is in It

We read the Supplement Facts panel on the maker’s product page on September 25, 2026. A bottle holds 60 capsules, 30 servings of 2 capsules.

Per serving (2 capsules)Amount
Elemental magnesium500 mg, from a 1,701 mg proprietary blend
Forms in the blendMagnesium chelate, bisglycinate, Sucrosomial magnesium (listed as magnesium oxide), malate, orotate, taurate, citrate
Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxal-5-phosphate)2 mg
Manganese (as manganese citrate)1 mg
Humic/fulvic “monoatomic” blend10 mg

Because the blend is proprietary, the label does not say how much of the 500 mg comes from each form. So a reader cannot tell how much of it is bisglycinate, the form tested in the most recent sleep trial, or how much is oxide. The NIH names magnesium oxide among the less bioavailable forms and among the forms most often reported to cause diarrhea. The maker says the Sucrosomial coating improves absorption; we did not evaluate that claim. We also did not evaluate the humic/fulvic blend, for which the label gives no Daily Value.

The Dose Against the NIH Limit

The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements sets an upper limit of 350 mg a day of magnesium for adults from supplements and medications combined, not counting food. It says intake from supplements should not go above that unless a health care provider recommends it, and that high intakes can cause diarrhea, nausea and abdominal cramping.

  • The label’s own directions: 2 capsules a day with your evening meal, or as recommended by a healthcare practitioner. That is 500 mg, above the 350 mg limit.
  • The maker’s product page goes further. It describes a “magnesium loading” schedule of 3, then 4, then 5 capsules a day for six weeks. At 500 mg per 2 capsules, 5 capsules is about 1,250 mg a day.
  • The two sources also disagree on food. The label says to take it with the evening meal, while the product page says to take it on an empty stomach 1 to 2 hours before bed.
  • Each capsule holds about 250 mg, if the two capsules in a serving contain equal amounts. That matches the elemental dose in the one bisglycinate sleep trial, though that trial used a single form.

We do not give a dose. If you are considering this product, ask a healthcare provider whether going above the NIH limit makes sense for you, especially if your kidneys do not work well or you take any of the medicines listed under Who Should Talk to a Doctor First.

What the Research Shows

  • Magnesium and sleep in general. The 2026 review by Lopresti and colleagues rated the evidence from 12 randomized trials low to very low certainty and concluded that it does not support oral magnesium as a routine treatment for insomnia, though it may give modest benefits for selected subjective outcomes in some adults. The details are in our magnesium glycinate guide.
  • The 500 mg trial the maker cites. The product page describes a small trial in which 500 mg of daily magnesium improved sleep in older adults. That is Abbasi and colleagues, 2012: 46 older adults with insomnia took 500 mg of elemental magnesium or a placebo for 8 weeks. The magnesium group improved on the Insomnia Severity Index, sleep efficiency and time to fall asleep, while total sleep time did not differ significantly. The full text says the magnesium was given as magnesium oxide tablets, two a day, not a blend of seven forms. A 2021 meta-analysis that included this trial judged it at some risk of bias, noting that none of its three trials reported how randomization, allocation concealment or blinding were done.
  • The product itself. A PubMed search for the product name and for BIOptimizers returned one study. In it, rats were given Magnesium Breakthrough or a single form of magnesium (oxide, citrate or glycinate) for 30 days. Magnesium Breakthrough raised blood magnesium and was linked to changes in some brain proteins and to what the authors call mild anxiolytic-like effects, meaning behavior in the rats that suggests less anxiety, and the authors describe its effects as comparable to those of the individual compounds. The study was funded by BIOptimizers, which also supplied the supplements, and it was not a sleep study in people.

We found no trial in people showing that a seven-form blend works better for sleep than one well-absorbed form.

About the Price

Our link opens the product page on the maker’s store, and its checkout is run by ClickBank. On September 25, 2026, the checkout links on that page were:

PackageOne-time orderSubscribe & Save
1 bottle (30 servings)$40$35
3 bottles$99$87
5 bottles$160$136

The page shows the subscription prices next to struck-through reference prices of $40, $120 and $200. Shipping was listed as free on US orders of $90 or more. Prices change; confirm them before you order.

The subscription. The maker’s subscription policy says subscription orders are processed automatically each month on the same calendar day as the first purchase, and that you cancel by calling the help desk at (800) 719-2467, weekdays 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern, or by e-mail. It does not say whether a three- or five-bottle subscription sends that many bottles every month, so check before you choose it.

Refunds

The maker’s refund policy, read September 25, 2026, sets these terms:

  • 365 days from the purchase to ask for a refund, through the help desk, which issues a return authorization and shipping instructions.
  • Unopened bottles only, except that the first bottle of your first purchase counts as a trial. Returns with more than one used bottle get a prorated refund.
  • Shipping and handling are not refunded.
  • The same terms apply to subscription and one-time orders.

Because the order is paid through ClickBank, ClickBank’s own refund route is also open. ClickBank’s help pages say physical products still follow the seller’s return policy, including sending the items back. We have not tested a return.

The Company’s Track Record

  • Better Business Bureau. BIOptimizers USA Inc.’s profile, read September 25, 2026, showed 0 complaints in its reporting period, 8 years in business, and no BBB accreditation.
  • Trustpilot. The bioptimizers.com page showed a TrustScore of 2.5 out of 5 from 536 reviews, with a note that the company had replied to 100% of negative reviews. The most recent 1-star reviews we read described a subscription order that was shipped and charged after the buyer asked to cancel, for a different BIOptimizers product, and a buyer who said a BIOptimizers product did nothing for their sleep, without naming which one. Trustpilot reviews are self-selected and unverified.

What We Would Not Use, and Why We’re Telling You

Our link is set to open the plain product page. The default page for this offer is a long sales letter headlined as a “doctor-discovered sleep trick” that “fixes the root cause” of sleepless nights. It says most people “can fall asleep within minutes,” includes a founder’s account of taking about 5 grams of magnesium a day, and cites a review as finding that magnesium “could be a treatment for anxiety.” We found no evidence for those claims in the research above, and 5 grams a day is more than 14 times the NIH limit for supplements. We do not link to that page. We mention it because it is part of how this product is sold.

Who Should Talk to a Doctor First

The label itself tells anyone who is pregnant or nursing, has a serious medical condition or uses any medication to consult a healthcare practitioner before use. From the NIH:

  • Kidney problems raise the risk of magnesium toxicity, whose signs include low blood pressure, nausea, vomiting, facial flushing and lethargy, and at worse levels muscle weakness, difficulty breathing and irregular heartbeat.
  • Bisphosphonates for osteoporosis: take magnesium at least 2 hours before or after.
  • Tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics: take them at least 2 hours before or 4 to 6 hours after magnesium.
  • Diuretics can raise or lower magnesium loss, and long-term acid reflux or ulcer drugs can lower blood magnesium.

What We Did Not Check

  • We have not bought or tested the product, or had it tested by a lab.
  • We did not verify the amount of each form in the blend, which the label does not disclose.
  • We did not evaluate the Sucrosomial absorption claim or the humic/fulvic blend.
  • We did not place an order, test a cancellation or test a refund.
  • We read the rat study and the 2026 review as abstracts, and the 2012 trial and the 2021 meta-analysis in full.

Questions

Does Magnesium Breakthrough help you sleep?

We found no study of this product in people. Evidence for magnesium and sleep in general is weak: a 2026 review of 12 trials rated it low to very low certainty. The one maker-funded study, in rats, found effects comparable to single forms of magnesium.

Is 500 mg of magnesium too much?

The NIH upper limit for adults is 350 mg a day from supplements and medications, and it says not to go above it unless a health care provider recommends it. One serving of this product is 500 mg. Ask your provider, especially if you have kidney disease.

Is it better than plain magnesium glycinate?

We found no trial in people that compares a multi-form blend with a single form for sleep. The maker-funded rat study found comparable effects. A single-form product also tells you exactly how much of that form you get, which this label does not.

Why are there two prices?

The lower prices are for Subscribe & Save, which reorders automatically every month until you cancel by phone or e-mail. The one-time prices were $40, $99 and $160 for one, three and five bottles when we checked.

What is the refund policy?

Unopened bottles can be returned within 365 days for a refund of the product price, not shipping. The first bottle of your first order counts as a trial; beyond that, used bottles get a prorated refund.

See Also

Magnesium Glycinate for Sleep covers the trials and the NIH safety notes in full. Best Natural Sleep Supplements, Ranked by the Evidence places magnesium alongside eight other ingredients. Magnesium and Melatonin covers taking the two together. Our affiliate disclosure explains how this guide earns money.

Check current pricing and availability for Magnesium Breakthrough (BIOptimizers) (affiliate link, opens the maker’s site in a new tab)

Sources Cited in This Guide

  1. BIOptimizers. Magnesium Breakthrough product page and Supplement Facts panel (label version v60v4.2r). Read September 25, 2026. bioptimizers.com
  2. BIOptimizers. “BIOptimizers Return and Refund Policy.” Read September 25, 2026. bioptimizers.com
  3. BIOptimizers. “BIOptimizers Subscription Policy.” Read September 25, 2026. bioptimizers.com
  4. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. “Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Consumers.” Updated March 22, 2021. Read September 19, 2026. NIH ODS
  5. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. “Magnesium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” Read September 24, 2026. NIH ODS
  6. Lopresti AL, Smith SJ, Drummond PD. “Magnesium Supplementation for Sleep in Adults: A Systematic Review of Randomized Controlled Trials.” J Diet Suppl. 2026. Read September 19, 2026 (abstract). PMID 42661485
  7. Abbasi B, Kimiagar M, Sadeghniiat K, et al. “The effect of magnesium supplementation on primary insomnia in elderly: A double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial.” J Res Med Sci. 2012. Read September 25, 2026 (full text). PMID 23853635
  8. Mah J, Pitre T. “Oral magnesium supplementation for insomnia in older adults: a Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis.” BMC Complement Med Ther. 2021. Read September 25, 2026 (full text). PMID 33865376
  9. Dizdar M, Obučić M, Crnčević N, et al. “Integrated Systemic and Neurobiological Effects of a Multi-Form Magnesium Supplement Compared to Single Magnesium Forms in Rats.” Int J Mol Sci. 2026. Read September 25, 2026 (abstract and conflict statement). PMID 42589240
  10. Schuster J, Cycelskij I, Lopresti A, et al. “Magnesium Bisglycinate Supplementation in Healthy Adults Reporting Poor Sleep: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial.” Nat Sci Sleep. 2025. Read September 19, 2026 (abstract). PMID 40918053
  11. Better Business Bureau. BiOptimizers USA Inc. business profile and complaints. Read September 25, 2026. bbb.org
  12. Trustpilot. BiOptimizers (bioptimizers.com) review page. Read September 25, 2026. trustpilot.com
  13. ClickBank. “ClickBank’s Return and Subscription Cancellation Policy.” Read September 23, 2026. support.clickbank.com

This guide is for information and is not medical advice. Talk to a healthcare provider about medication, pregnancy, kidney disease and persistent sleep problems. We may earn a commission if you buy through the links above, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

If this guide was useful, send it to someone who is also awake at 3 a.m.